Ready, set, SOAP!

Published October 9, 2013 by rumbl3

We moved to the Portland, Oregon, area about 1 1/2 years ago. We hired an LA moving company to get our things here. Almost all our things did get here, but as near as we can figure we are missing at least 3 cartons and a stick fan.

Of course, the 3 cartons missing contained my sanity. Yup- my crafting supplies. Over the last few months I’ve been itching to get back into melt-and-pour soaping. It’s a solo project that is soothing and relaxing to me.

So on Sunday, I went to the craft store and purchased 1 mold with 4 cavities, a 5 lb. block of Mango/Shea butter soap and cellophane bags to wrap the finished product in.

Image

After dicing a good portion of the soap block into ice-cube sized pieces, I melted, I poured, I colored and scented. Yummy!

Image

The green ones are Green Tea/ Cucumber bars. And the pink are Lavender. After 2 hours they were ready to pop out and wrap for gifting.

Image

After 4 more sets, I will be ready for my neighborhood’s Holiday Bazaar. My goodies include: Soap, Bath Salts, Peppermint foot soak, and a Sugar Mint scrub. Fingers crossed!

6 comments on “Ready, set, SOAP!

  • What a great blog, I’ve just recently tried soap making myself but when I had finished adding the scent and colour and let it set I could only just smell the scent and when I tried some it just left a soap smell on my hands and not the scent I used. Did I do something wrong, not put enough scent in maybe? I didn’t want to put too much in as I read too much fragrance can cause irritation 🙂 x

  • The oils are thicker. They tend to evaporate at a much slower pace than an alcohol-based fragrance. And the scent is stronger in essential oils- and not synthetic 🙂

    I made 40 bars of soap- many different scents. Lavender, patchouli, orange, mulberry, and lemon.

    My back is sore from releasing the soaps from the molds but my house smells so good!

  • Leave a Reply

