My Adventures in Oil :)

Published October 3, 2013 by rumbl3

Image

I had read many articles and blogs about making your own herb/fruit infused fragrance oils so I thought I would try.

I started with the zest (grated peel without the white pith) of 2 Clementine Oranges.

I took approx. 1/3 c. light Olive Oil

I saturated the zest and sealed the jar. A couple times I day I shake the jar. 10 days went by. Shake, turn, spin. Shake, turn, spin.

Today, I opened the jar with high expectations of smelling a burst of orange essence or at least a light fruity scent. Right?

Uh, no.

What I smell is the fruit zest fermenting- yuck!

It looks pretty. It smells yucky.

Any oil makers out there with an opinion or helpful hint?

Leave a Reply

