Make your own diffuser!

Published August 26, 2013 by rumbl3

I was walking through Costco last year and entered the Home Deco section. Came across some beautiful, fragrant diffusers. Read the ingredients (and price)  and kept on walking 🙂

I thought to myself… I can make one even better.

So I went to Walmart and picked up a few things.

 

  • Bamboo skewers sticks
  • Mineral Oil (or other carrier oil)
  • Essential Oil ( I used lemon- OMG!) not available at Wally’s, but any GNC should have some
  • Decorative smaller vase or bottle (the smaller the neck of bottle, the slower the evaporation)

 

Using the ratio of  4:1  Oil: Fragrance, put in your bottle.

If the skewers are too long, you can trim them down. I cut mine to 10″ so that there would be 5″ on top to “teepee” in the bottle. Put skewers in- let them soak for a minute or 2 then flip them over and insert the clean ends.

Now your sticks are all coated, and your bottle is ready to place.

I placed my bottle in the bathroom. I think it took less than 30 minutes for the fragrance to reach me at the other end of the house.

The more essential oil you use the stronger the aroma.

These bottles make great gifts especially if decorated.

Happy crafting!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

